What is Tarot?

When I took my broom out of the closet to my best friend concerning my ability to read tarot cards, she wrote me a long letter about how I was involved with the occult, influenced by Satan, and hanging out with demons. Our friendship was lost that day. I’m hesistant about revealing my beliefs to anyone else that I care about. Afterall, witches have been the most persecuted religion out there.

I get it. I was a born-again Christian for many years. I was certain all my friends and family were going to hell and I prayed diligently for their salvation. I tried hard to make them see the error of their ways. One day, the book, “The Celestine Prophecy” by James Redfield, jumped out at me on a book shelf. It changed my life. To summarize how that book converted me from Christianity to a more esoteric path – it provided me such a profound mystical, insightful, and transformative experience, that I was never the same again. I finally got what the Bible talked about to be free from bondage. I finally accepted God’s unconditional love when I was no longer under the oppression of guilt from my sins. This liberating experience into the Light actually caused me to walk a purer path from within, rather than always trying but failing.

I wish my friend hadn’t allowed her religion to build a wall between us. I wish she would have seen me for the person I am — devoted to the Divine, walking in Love and Light. I am well aware of the Church’s position on anything that goes outside of the Bible but I refuse to debate anyone. I honor and respect all paths.

It’s my personal opinion that the church has ulterior motives for forbidding any activity that will help a believer gain spiritual knowledge outside of their parameters. There has been fear about the masses having this knowledge and power. However, people are awakening spiritually and nothing will step this conscious revolution. There have also been converts to Christianity that testify about the evil nature of their experiences with the supernatural. It’s not a game, and that’s why throughout history, only the initiated have had access to this knowledge. If you choose to walk down a dark path, or are playing around and have no idea what you are doing, then you can be manipulated by dark forces.

What tarot cards really are, are a deck of 78 cards made up of the Minor Arcana and the Major Arcana. The Minor Arcana is divided up into 4 suits, just like regular playing cards. Wands, Swords, Cups, and Pentacles all reflect aspects of your life, i.e., spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical. The Major Arcana are 22 cards that represent principles, concepts, and ideals, and signify strong energy and a big event in some area of life. There are many spreads that can be used to place the cards, but each spot has a specific meaning to be interpreted by the card placed there.

The cards cannot predict the future or tell fortunes. What the cards can do is take an energetic imprint of where you have been, where you are now, and what the likely outcome is if you continue on this path. It can bring to light unseen influences, patterns of behavior, obstacles, and strengths. If you get a negative reading or do not like where you are going, you have the power to change it! Nothing is set in stone. You are the creator of your destiny.  I have found the tarot to be incredibly insightful through all its archetypes and symbolism of the entire human drama. The tarot is known for telling hard truths, so I would suggest not having a reading if you are not open to taking a hard look at your life. Yet, if you are open and willing to reflect on the messages, the tarot is a great guide.

Nobody really knows how the tarot works, though there’s lots of theories. Perhaps it’s synchronicity, a medium by which the reader can tap into universal consciousness, or influenced by supernatural beings to place the cards in meaningful positions. You can ask a specific question to yourself or the reader before your reading, or you can be open to a general reading. It’s best to keep your questions positive, personal, and neutral.

I hope this article cleared up any questions you had about tarot. Let me know if you have any other questions! I’d love your feedback!

~Brightest Blessings~
Heaven On Earth Ministries

Promote Your Page Too

4 thoughts on “What is Tarot?

  1. I’m really sorry to hear that you lost a friend because of this misunderstanding. I have found the cards to be a tool for self growth and I’m sure that you and the people you read for are enriched by them.

    Like

  2. Hi! I discovered tarot at age 13 and sometimes people would tell me I am a witch. My page is about Tarot also but it is in Spanish and Romanian as I don’t speak very good English. 🙂 Good luck! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

